Australian National University

Australian National University is a national research institution located in Canberra, the capital city of Australia. The main campus of this university is in Acton, and they include seven teaching and research colleges as well as additional national academies and institutes. Started in 1946, it is the only university that was created by the Australian Parliament. Initially a postgraduate research university, the school commenced its undergraduate courses in 1960 when it merged with the Canberra University College. Canberra University College had been opened in 1929 as a branch of the University of Melbourne. ANU admits 10,052 undergraduates and 10,840 postgraduates and employs 3,753 people. The university’s endowment was at A$1.13 billion in 2012.

Australian National University c


Read more on Review of University of Western Australia


ANU is often ranked among the world’s best universities. ANU is currently ranked 19th in the world and first in Australia together with King’s College London by the QS World University Rankings and 52nd in the world and second in Australia by the Times Higher Education. It is currently the world’s 25th most international university in a study by Times Higher Education and first in Australia. In the Times Higher Education Global Employability University Ranking, the annual ranking of all university graduates’ employability, ANU ranks 32nd in the world and first in Australia). ANU currently ranks 89th and first in Australia in the CWTS Leiden Ranking. It ranks first in the 4 Palmes category of the Eduniversal ranking.


ANU lists six Nobel laureates in its faculty and alumni. It has also produced two Prime Ministers, 30 Australian Ambassadors and over a dozen heads of Government departments in Australia. Students entering the ANU in the year 2013 possessed a median Australian Tertiary Admission status of 93, the highest among Australian universities

Its past notable faculty includes Keith Hancock, Manning Clark, Mark Oliphant, Derek Freeman, H. C. Coombs, Hedley Bull as well as Frank Fenner. Former ANU Chancellor Howard Florey along with faculty members John Eccles, Rolf M. Zinkernagel, John Harsanyi, Peter Doherty and Brian Schmidt are all Nobel Laureates and alumni of this school. Notable scholars from this school include Hilary Charlesworth, Warwick McKibbin, Ian McAllister, Keith Dowding, Jeremy Shearmur and Amin Saikal.

Australian National University b





ANU alumni are very visible in Australian government. Former Australian Prime Ministers Bob Hawke and Kevin Rudd attended the University along with senior politicians Barry O’Farrell, Kim Beazley Sr, Peter Garrett, Nick Minchin, Craig Emerson, Stephen Conroy, Warren Snowdon, Joe Ludwig and Catherine King, Gary Gray, and Michael Keenan.

ANU is a very distinguished university that has produced many global figures and hence any ambitious student should choose it. It has adequate facilities and top-notch lecturers. For more details, visit .

Read more on The Top Five Universities in North Carolina